First seedlings of the season.

IMG_1179

The winner is Kohlrabi!  This particular variety is Kossack. It is first to emerge this year. From my first seedings of cabbages, onions, and celeries, the brassicas have taken the early lead.  I think the leeks, however, will win at playing the long game.  There are 2 seeds of the brassicas in each cell (except where I got a little enthusiastic in the upper right corner cell) and each cell will be thinned to the strongest candidate.  (That is if I can maintain a ruthless mindset.  More often I can’t bear to thin, aka murder, the seedlings and end up planting out twice as much as intended.  I’m working on it.)

I’m trying multisown onions this year so each cell has 5-6 seeds each.  I have Tadorna leeks, Copra onions, and Conservor shallots sprouted under lights.  They will be sown as clumps in the garden.  Charles Dowding is a proponent of this method of growing onions.  I very much covet his garden and his 8-9 growing zone in Somerset, England so I shall try to get my garden to emulate his, or at least see if the alliums will.

Has anyone else had success with multi sown onions?

Leave a comment