New New Zealand Spinach

New Zealand spinach
Seeds and seedlings of New Zealand spinach.

When is a spinach not a spinach?  When it’s New Zealand spinach!

This is another “new to me” plant I’m trying out this year.  I was inspired by Zone 5 gardener Patrick from One Yard Revolution who grows this green in his backyard.

Reading up on starting this plant from seed, I followed advice to knick the seed husk (which is rather soft) and soak it in warm water prior to planting.  Seemed to work as I got seedlings around 2 weeks after planting.  I kept the little pot on top of the water heater as they are supposed to need heat to germinate.  They have slow and inconsistent germination so I wasn’t too disappointed that I only got 3 seedlings from 8 seeds.  More info here.

The silver lining to the fuss and bother of germinating is that this tastes like and can be used like (purportedly) spinach.  It is heat tolerant so it will come to harvest after my other spinaches have finished.

Any advice on eating and/or growing this plant?

One thought on “New New Zealand Spinach

  1. I haven’t grown spinach in twenty years, & just planted some this week. I’m zone 5, too. It’ll be fun to see how it all turns out!

    Like

Leave a comment