Caught in the act!

Context:  We have two cats.  One is a nibbler especially fond of the shoelaces on my dress shoes.  Poor thing, now that the laces are no more she had to go hunting for nourishment elsewhere.  Note: we do feed our cats regularly, despite what they will tell you.

Prior offences:  I had noticed in April that the pea shoots in the modules closest to the table were much shorter than the rest of the shoots.  Then I cleaned the litter box and deduced why.  I mounted barriers in front of the seedlings.  The peas recovered.

Redhanded:  This morning when I went down to water the seedlings, CAT had stealthily squeezed in between my barricades and was munching on my shallot seedlings!!

IMG_3344
Suspect in custody.  

M.O.:  Now I wonder if the leeks that failed last year were in fact failures, or merely appetizers….

3 thoughts on “Caught in the act!

  1. Hilarious!! Last summer I thought my heirloom pineapple tomatoes, the ones that are $5 a pound at Whole Foods, were suffering from my neglect because there were very few ripe ones on the vine. Later in the week, while taking care of the other plants, our dog, Donnie, came up to me with a beautiful perfect pineapple tomato in his mouth. He had a pile of tomatoes he was making his way through and just had to show me this one. I would not have figured out he was a tomato thief otherwise. I guess he thought I planted this garden just for him. This year every tomato plant is at the community garden instead of our back yard. He’ll just have to hope we share.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment